Gamer Kryptonite: Fighters


With the recent release of King of Fighters XIII and Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3, I got to thinking about how badly I get owned whenever I sit to play fighters.  I don’t get them.  Fighters are my kryptonite, and just as every super hero has their “kryptonite” every gamer has a weakness when it comes to gaming.

Ever since I began holding a controller, I have always had a weakness when it comes to fighters.  No matter how many hours I spent memorizing Ryu’s hadoukens or Guile’s Sonic Booms, Dhalsim would relentlessly b*#$% slap me from across the room.  This activity continues today, but instead of Dhalsim, it’s my non-fire breathing wife.  That’s right, my non-gamer wife owns me when we play Marvel vs. Capcom.  Her fingers nearly bleed from the mashing, but her mashing skills are unrivaled.  I really don’t mind though because it gets her to play.  I slapped the PS3 controller in her hand to play Portal 2 coop once, and, well,  I think this video explains it best.

So what’s your gamer kryptonite?  Is there an element in gaming that you have a weakness to?  Do platformers send you falling to your doom?  Do puzzle games put holes in your drywall?  Let us know in the comments.

-by Clint Kingsley

About Clint Kingsley

Clint is a gaming journalist for GameTaffy.com. PSN ID: K-Train22

Posted on November 23, 2011, in IMHO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I wish I could say that I’m not that ridiculously bad at anything except fighter games, but I am. The video isn’t an exaggeration at all. At least I make my husband look like a sissy while playing Marvel versus Capcom.

  2. When Chelsy and I play Tekken, she murders me for the first 6 matches, but after that, I am unstoppable.

    The difference between the two of us is that when she wins, I congratulate her and compliment how much she rocked, but when I win, she calls me a cheater and a cheap shot.

  1. Pingback: A 2011 Gamer Chronology « GameTaffy

More Words

