Skyrim: the Anti-Review


Skyrim logo

That’s right.  This is an anti-review about The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.  Seriously, this game is too loaded for one man to review alone.  Nevertheless, its awesomeness must be shared!

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is the first game I ever purchased where I went to the midnight release.  I was quite surprised with the amount of people that showed up; the Elder Scrolls series is a big deal.  My friends and I actually planned a trip up Ogden Canyon to spend the weekend at a cabin to get away from any distractions that might affect the experience once we had purchased it.  We didn’t waste any time.  The beautiful drive up the canyon was a perfect preview to what we would experience in the game.

Skyrim resembles Fallout 3 quite a bit, even using world-items that were used in Fallout, but it doesn’t take long to recognize Skyrim’s value as a standalone title.  Try to find anything that is beautiful in Fallout 3.  You won’t.  Skyrim feels like a trip to the mountains, and as time passes in the game, it is made clear that the story is as epic as the vistas you explore.

Like I said, this game is loaded.  Besides the many available quests,there is a massive world to explore.   Friends I have spoken with have said that many times, they will be on their way to complete a quest, but will quickly get distracted with a nearby cave to explore, or a dragon attack.

Minecraft fans will be pleased to play around with various crafting ventures.  Players can tweak armor at blacksmiths, gather and eat ingredients to learn their functions, dismantle enchanted items to gain the ability to empower others, and even buy a pickaxe to mine special ores that cover the land of Skyrim.

I could go on, but if I did, this wouldn’t be an anti-review!  Know that the game is the most beautiful and epic I have ever seen, and I look forward to the hundreds of hours to come lost in Skyrim.

-by Clint Kingsley

About Clint Kingsley

Clint is a gaming journalist for GameTaffy.com. PSN ID: K-Train22

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Game Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this game! I have already spent multiple hours on it and many more are planned. Great anti-review.

  1. Pingback: Why I Refuse to Review Skyrim « GameTaffy

More Words

