WAR OF THE WORLDS Media


HG Wells’ masterpiece The War of the Worlds is best remembered as a radio drama, and if you’re too young to know what that is, it’s like a television without the picture.

Other Ocean’s The War of the Worlds will probably not be remembered. But it may not deserve its fate, as can be seen in its newest gameplay video and screen shots.

I hope to get a review copy soon and will be able to post a video explaining the game in greater detail, but I have formulated a visual opinion.

The graphics are beautiful, but there are some lighting choices that are a bit distracting. The characters look a little stiff, but they are still believable in their world. The style and design are going to be this title’s second-best selling point.

Its first selling point will be the source material, to which justice has been given. The alien ships look retro and beautiful, and the setting fits the time period.

Controls will hinder the game. One look at the video shows that this will be a frustrating game to play. However, clunky controls are not always a problem. Ico is one of the most beautiful games of the PS2, and it is a beast to control.

I appreciate side-scrolling platformers, since I’m getting old in the gaming world. Once upon a time, all but RPGs were left-to-right platformers, and Other Ocean has added plenty of depth here to make it feel like a 3D platformer.

No official release date has been listed.

FINAL WORD: Keep Watching

About Ben Davis

Ben writes for KWCR 88.1 Weber FM, Studio 76, the Signpost, and KSL.com and can be contacted on Twitter (@GameTaffyBen) or at Ben@GameTaffy.com!

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Media Releases and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. In this grand design of things you secure a B- with regard to hard work. Exactly where you actually confused me ended up being on all the specifics. As people say, details make or break the argument.. And that could not be much more correct here. Having said that, allow me reveal to you just what exactly did work. Your writing is very engaging and that is most likely why I am making the effort to opine. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Secondly, whilst I can certainly notice the leaps in logic you make, I am definitely not certain of exactly how you seem to connect the details which inturn help to make the actual final result. For right now I will subscribe to your point but wish in the foreseeable future you link the dots much better.

  2. I am cb receipt.I feel very lucky to discover your blog.I really appreciate your hard work.thank you very much for posting about this.

    • I appreciate it. I do spend a few hours a day trying to find content for this site. Starting next week, I will begin adding video content from the games that I review. Check back then, and let me know what you think! Tell your friends!

  3. fairly stimulating. Nonetheless, I beg your pardon, because I do not give credence to your whole plan, all be it radical none the less. It looks to me that your opinions are generally not completely justified and in actuality you are generally yourself not really fully certain of your assertion. In any event I did appreciate reading it.

  4. Hi, really loving the design of your website. Would you mind if I asked you what theme youre making use of here? I’m new to this, but I’m hoping to have mine looking nearly as cool as yours. Thanks a lot.

    • I’m using the Vertigo theme from the list of free themes. However, I am talking to some friends about having one made for me to give the site more of a custom look and feel.

      Tell your friends to bookmark GameTaffy! And thanks for leaving a comment!

  5. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

More Words

